Anthony Romano Elected New Chairman of Hudson County Freeholders Board

Freeholder Anthony Romano was elected the new Board Chairman at the reorganization meeting of the Hudson County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

Romano, who represents all of Hoboken and parts of Jersey City, was elected at the meeting on Jan. 3, replacing outgoing chairman Eliu Rivera. Freeholder Jose Munoz who represents all of West New York, Guttenberg and Weehawken was elected Vice-Chairperson.

Freeholder Thomas Liggio who represents all of North Bergen as well as parts of Secaucus and Jersey City was elected Chairperson Pro-Tempore while freeholder Jeffrey Dublin, who represents parts of Jersey City, was designated as Voting Member for the board to attend all meetings and conferences of the New Jersey Association of Counties this year. Freeholder Doreen DiDomenico, who represents Bayonne, will serve as Dublin’s alternate.

The nine-member board, which votes on the county budget and issues affecting county institutions, has rotated leadership every year.

Summer Dawn Hortillosa

is a freelance arts and entertainment writer whose work has appeared in the Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal, the International and other publications. She is also a creative writer and theatrical director.